I’m A Happy Hippy, Part 1

I am the proud owner of a new hip, and she’s wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

First off, let me apologize for the huge delay in posting the follow up to my surgery on Feb. 7th. I should have know that a major surgery like this would cause me to be quite fatigued for a while, but I didn’t realize quite how tired I’d be! That being said, the surgery was a complete success and I couldn’t be happier with how things went!!! I’m going to break this up into three parts – Pre-Op, Post-Op and Home Again. So…here we go!!

PRE-OP

I was up at 4am on Feb. 7th, so I could have my second shower with my super scrubbing brush and get all the last minute stuff done before we left for the hospital. We live in Langford which is a small city just outside of Victoria – normally about a 30 minute drive in good weather without rush hour traffic. Unfortunately, good weather is NOT what we’ve been having over the last few months – this is what Ray found and dealt with:

SnowBigDeal  ICanSeeClearlyNow

Thankfully, the roads themselves were pretty decent, even for that early in the morning and we arrived at the Royal Jubilee Hospital at approximately 5:30am – half an hour earlier than our scheduled time. There’s a Tim Horton’s coffee shop right beside Admitting so Ray grabbed a coffee, and then we sat in front of Admitting until they opened. We chatted quietly, and then suddenly, we were being met by the greeting committee of one – Georgie:

Georgie2

Now, Georgie is a handsome boy who lives across the street from the Royal Jubilee Hospital. His frustrated parents have given up on trying to stop him from coming over here – he’s an indoor/outdoor cat and when he’s outdoors, he treks over here to visit, supervise, observe and greet. He’s polite and friendly, but very busy and he doesn’t always have time to spend with you – there’s much to be done for this busy boy. Once the metal security gate around the Admitting Desk is open, he trots in behind there to the offices where he’s greeted and loved up and then gets on with his day. Ray and I were so surprised to see him, especially thinking the Hospital would take issue with it, but Georgie seems to have proven himself to be quite the character, and most people who are greeted by him seem to calm down, feel less stress and anxiety and be more talkative, instead of pulling into their shells because of fear. So…it’s a good relationship for everyone!

Alright…so after getting all the paperwork done, confirming I had in fact paid for my new hip, and receiving my hospital bracelet, Ray and I headed to the 3rd Floor to Day Surgery, where all surgical patients start out. It’s only after your surgery that you’re separated after recovery – either back to Day Surgery if you’re going home that day, or to your Floor if you’re staying as an In Patient. As one of the first people booked for surgery that morning, it was fairly quiet when we got to 3rd and the nurses were just opening the doors. I was directed to a change room with a bag for my clothes, and given in return two gowns (one to wear open at the back, one to use as a housecoat) a pair of booties and a hat. Ray took my stuff and then it was time to say goodbye. He had to leave for a meeting involving a volunteer program he was involved in at the hospital regarding prostate examinations, and I would be going through the lengthy check-in process with my nurse Amanda. We had a quick hug and kiss, he took my glasses as well as my clothes (I WISH there was a way to keep the glasses!!!) and away we both went.

Amanda got me tucked into bed, brought me one of those wonderful warm blankets and then we went through my health history. I asked her who would be starting the IV and she said probably her, so I told her about my crappy veins. I suggested we might want to put some heat on my arm now to try and plump them up and she agreed, so we got that started, then continued with the questions. We talked about previous surgeries, outcomes, all my various health conditions, medications, all the various tests I’ve had done, my Diabetes and blood testing, plus my Insulin usage…you name it, we discussed it. Then she went and grabbed the IV kit and we got going on that. I’ll give her tons of credit…she listened to me when I described my veins and what they would probably do – how they would act and react and what she could and couldn’t do if she didn’t get a stick the first time. And because she listened to me, she got that big bore needle in my arm the very first time, with only a small amount of having to probe around for the vein. She said after, she’s learned to listen to people because we know our bodies. We know what will happen and we’re right, so as a nurse, why should she pretend to know more than us? She was an excellent nurse…just the right amount of professionalism and personality!!

Once all this was done, there was nothing to do except rest, until it was time to be moved over to the Pre-op area. Dr. Burnett came in to say hi, and to initial the hip, making sure it was the correct side that we were operating on, and then before I knew it, I was being moved over to the Pre-Op Holding Area. I met with the Anesthesiologist there, who confirmed my choice of Spinal Anesthesia along with IV Sedation, and he explained to me how that would work. Once I was in the operating room and on the table, he would give me a sedative through the IV and then a needle would be placed directly into the cerebrospinal fluid that surrounds the spinal cord, numbing me completely from the bottom of my ribs down. I wouldn’t even know it was done. We chatted about a couple of other things and then he told me they would be ready for me in about 10 minutes. And sure enough…in about 10 minutes, they came to move me into the Operating room. I was introduced to everyone there, they slid me from my bed to the table and started doing lots of things around me. I asked if I could say a quick prayer as they kept busy and then just prayed for God to be with everyone in the room, guiding them to do their best work and preventing any problems from coming up. I also asked the Lord to be with all of the medical people and all the other patients having surgery that day as well, as it was a very busy surgical day. Once I was done, the Anesthesiologist let me know he was going to give me the sedative. I thanked everyone and told them how much I appreciated their hard work, and then off to sleep I went….

Moving on to Part 2 – Post-Op

Leave a Reply

