Getting Ready For Surgery

Woo Hoo!!!!  Things have been super busy since my last post. As I said, Feb. 7th is my surgery date, at the Royal Jubilee hospital in Victoria, BC.  Since I posted that, I have received a letter from Island Health, indicating that I’m the first surgery of the day – I check in at Admitting at 6am!! My Surgeon is Dr. Stephen Burnett (more on him in another post) who is apparently one of the best in the business!

My husband Ray and I have attended the mandatory Education Class for all patients undergoing a Total Hip Replacement (THR) or Total Knee Replacement (TKR). It’s a 2 hour class put on by Rebalance MD, the Physicians Group of Orthopedic Surgeons who perform all of the Ortho surgeries in Victoria. It’s lead by one of the Orthopedic Nurse Navigators – in our case, Britta Henly, and takes you through all of the information you need to know about your surgery, from things like the equipment you’ll need to have at home to help you get around the house to Physio appointments to maintaining the 90º rules so you don’t dislocate your new hip. There are three major rules you have to follow for the first three months after surgery

  • No bending beyond 90º
  • No crossing of your legs
  • No twisting at the midline

They don’t sound all that difficult until you realize how often you cross your legs without even thinking about it, or how many times you twist in your seat to get something. Even getting in and out of the car is a huge new task when you can’t bend beyond the 90º range. I’ve been practising, and actually had my hubby Ray film me, so I was doing it properly and could look back at it to make sure it was right.

We’ve also gone ahead and purchased all the equipment I’m going to need for the surgery – a two wheeled walker, raised toilet seat, bathtub transfer seat, long handled reacher, crutches (I already have a cane), a 2″  foam cushion for in the car and for other seats to make sure the 90º angle is maintained when I am sitting, and a cryotherapy machine for icing constantly to keep the swelling down and to help with pain. My insurance company will cover the cost of the equipment and we thought it made sense to buy, rather than rent, since I’ll need to have the other hip replaced, as well as likely needing knee surgery too. We can then keep and store everything, or sell it when it’s no longer required.

I’m also using a CPAP machine now, since my Sleep Apnea really does need to be treated and the surgeon wants me using it in the hospital after surgery. It’s better for my recovery, and I can’t argue that, so I’ve bought a female sized facial mask – with the nasal plugs instead of a full face mask – and it’s MUCH more comfortable to wear!! Unfortunately, I can’t use it when I have a Trigeminal Neuralgia flare-up, which happened a couple of nights ago, but I’ll do the best I can.

So, that’s it for the getting ready, equipment wise. Next post…the Surgeon, the tests, the unexpected tests, and the stress!!!!  I shouldn’t be worrying, but I am. I have to remember…

There is always hope!

IMG_3031

 

 

Leave a Reply

