I Have A Date For Hip Surgery!!!!

Oh, happy day!!!  After a very long wait, I have a date for hip replacement surgery for my right hip!!! February 7th is the big day, and Dr. Stephen Burnett is going to be my surgeon. All orthopedic surgeons in Victoria practice out of one office called Rebalance. My actual surgery will be at the Royal Jubilee hospital.

Because I have already met with the Triage Surgeon, I’ve already seen all the other people I needed to, because of my complex medical issues, such as the Endocrinologist regarding my Diabetes, and I’ve had my heart tests done as well. I meet with Dr. Burnett on January 16th, so we can go over the particulars of my surgery, any issues of concern (such as my Fibromyalgia, the fact I have D.I.S.H. on the thoracic spine (bone spurs that look more like melted candle wax), and the problem with my right knee (the loose body that causes my knee to collapse if I’m not wearing a brace). He’ll tell me how he’ll approach the incision (front or back), how long he expects the surgery to last, any complications he expects he might run into, etc. and how long he thinks I’ll be in hospital (generally only 2 days, in my case, possibly 3-4)

I’ll also have a separate meeting with Anesthesiology to discuss pain control. I’m already taking fairly high doses of opioid medication right now, so we’ll discuss a pain management plan. I can take morphine, but I also need to take Benadryl and something for nausea if I do…not really a problem, more an inconvenience.

I have a friend who is also having this surgery done, a month before me. I’m hoping to be able to get the lowdown from her on everything…how it feels, what the pain was like, what the moving and walking and stuff is like, therapy after…basically everything. It’s my hope to blog about all the details, as this was really the main reason I started a blog. I couldn’t find any “real person” accounts of the experience from start to finish. I hope to be able to make this useful for others who will be having surgery, so they have a good idea of what to expect.

So…2017 is going to start out as a very good year for me. In the meantime, I want to wish you a very Merry Christmas!! May you and your loved ones be blessed at this most wonderful time of the year. And as always…never give up.

There is ALWAYS hope!

Leave a Reply

