A Classic Christmas Carol – Rewritten (And Other Stuff)

Hello. I’ve been missing in action for the last several weeks due to a deep depression that hit and saw me in bed exhausted and unable to function much beyond the basics. I think it was probably a severe Bi-Polar Disorder low; I was diagnosed with this about 9 months ago after living with it for a number of years. I’ve been on Seroquel since the diagnosis with good results but still have episodes that pop up just out of the blue.

I was worried about this because I also had a flare up of my Trigeminal Neuralgia, and I was scheduled to fly to Calgary on November 18th to visit my dear sister/friend Charlotte to celebrate her birthday on the 19th. Somehow, everything came together, I felt well enough to go, managed the flight okay (with the help of friendly Westjet agents and Flight Attendants and fellow passengers when it came to my carry on bag), and once I landed in Calgary and got my first hug from Charlotte, all was right in the world again! Spent a full week with her and her (my) family, had dinner with my son Troy and in general, just enjoyed a great week “at home” at my second home. Charlotte’s son Sam is 12 now, almost taller than me and continues to amaze me with his accomplishments. Sam is a multiple amputee from birth, missing both hands and one foot. I’ll share a post about him soon because he deserves one all about him, but for now, here he is in his cadet outfit. Sam is the very first multiple amputee cadet in all of Canada!!! We’re all SO proud of him!!!!

saminuniform

After returning home, I ended up sleeping for 3 days, only getting up for pee breaks and an occasional bite of food (Ray makes me milkshakes with Carnation Instant Breakfast in them). I finally started feeling alive again by day 4, in time to realize how incredibly sore and achy my hips are. Which led to the re-writing of the classic Christmas song “I Want A Hippopotamus For Christmas” to my version, called “I Want A Hip Repla-cement For Christmas”. Feel free to sing along!

I Want A Hip Replacement For Christmas

I want a hip repla-cement for Christmas
Only a brand new hip for me will do
Don’t want jewels
No outdoor gardening tools
I want a hip to take for walks
Without pain, that’d be new

I want a hip repla-cement for Christmas
I don’t think Santa Claus will mind, do you
Then he and I can twirl
And I’ll be a giddy girl
So get me to the Doctor
That’s the smartest thing to do

I can see me now on Christmas morning
Creeping down the stairs of wood
I won’t need to use my walker
And I can throw away my crutches
When my hip does what it should!!

I want a hip repla-cement for Christmas
Only a total brand new hip will do
No more aches and pain
To drive this gal insane
I’ll only love a brand new hip
And a brand new hip will love me too!!!!!!!

Thank you, thank you very much     elvisemoji

Check back later for touring dates when I take this show on the road!!

and like I always say….there is always hope!

One thought on “A Classic Christmas Carol – Rewritten (And Other Stuff)

  1. Glad to hear you were able to have time with your friends/family. Sam is so handsome! I look forward to reading your post about him. And I honestly like your version of the song better than the original! BRAVA!!! 🌹🌹🌹

    Like

Leave a Reply

