Pain And Flare-ups

Screen Shot 2016-08-10 at 8.11.23 PM

Objects In Mirror Are Closer Than They Appear

I’ve been having a tough couple of weeks with pain; flare-ups of my Trigeminal Neuralgia (TN) and the overall body pain of my Fibromyalgia, plus ongoing spinal pain from my D.I.S.H.  These are the times when I feel like things are never going to get better and I start to feel a bit overwhelmed.

I saw my Pain Dr. on Monday (August 8/16) to discuss my spine and the TN. Basically there’s not much that can be done for the bone spurs that line my spine in the Thoracic Region and look like melted candle wax…the hallmark of D.I.S.H. – Diffuse Idiopathic Skeletal Hyperostosis, which literally means bony overgrowth of unknown origin everywhere. It’s usually found in men and depending on which information you read online, is “common” or “rare”. Hmmmmm, I wonder how that works.

He has suggested using a Massager like the TheraCane or the BodyBackBuddy to help with Myofascial release

theracane-product-shot-bigTheracane        backbuddy-og_1 BackBodyBuddy

These allow for use on the entire body, not just the spine, but are especially good on the back because they makes it easy to get deep into each disk and apply exactly the amount of pressure you want. They are both lightweight, so they won’t hurt me by being too heavy to hold (not generally a consideration for most people, but when you already have arthritis in your shoulders, elbows, wrists, etc., you have to think about these sorts of things).

As for my Trigeminal Neuralgia, we are putting in a request to my Insurance Company to see if they will cover a small dose of Botox, to try and paralyze the muscles around the nerve that is triggering the flares. It’s an off label use of Botox and there’s no guarantee they’ll approve it, but it’s worth a try. The next step is going to be a referral to a Neurosurgeon, to discuss the various surgical options. I’m getting flare-ups 2-3 times a week and I’ve tried all the various medications that are usually prescribed, so there’s not a lot of options left.

There are apparently several different surgeries that might be tried, so it’s time to research those and see what they are. I know one of them is invasive and is classified as “brain surgery”. I can’t quite wrap my head around that (no pun intended). But, if there’s something that will work, I’m willing to give it a try. The idea of putting up with these flares is too much to handle.

I wrote this awhile ago when I was in a really dark spot, but lately, it’s applied

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

i wore my burden gently, as it burned my tender skin

i pleaded with my enemy, my heart would not give in

it wracked my body, pummelled me, i fought back with my all

the pain, it tried to kill me, but still i wouldn’t fall

i’ve always thought a traitor lived inside my skin and bone

an evil little bastard never leaving me alone

each stabbing pain, each ache, each throb, each pounding in my brain

that rhythmically sends the message i’ll never be the same again

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Remember…there is always hope

Leave a Reply

